about us

about the new madrids

The New Madrids were formed in 2010 by the four remaining members of americana stalwarts $outhpaw and the lead singer/founder of rock & blues degenerates The Revivals.

Americana roots and soul are at the heart of The New Madrids' sound with a powerhouse rhythm section of Maurice McPherson on drums,Callum Keith on bass backing the incomparable Owen Nicholson on any variety of stringed creations. Ian Hutchison and Donny McElligott share lead vocal duties as well as the writing.

$outhpaw had rumbled to the end of the line after 5 years of touring the UK from the Orkney Islands to The Borderline in London, a televised show for the BBC, trips abroad to NXNE in Toronto and festivals in Norway where they met and played alongside several Austin legends such as Rick Broussard, Brennen Leigh, Jesse Dayton, Hayes Carll and Nanci Griffith among many others. Like any band who lived as they played there were casualties along the way including the odd hotel room, a dog that got too close to the tour bus, many broken hearts, even more broken laws and a couple of divorces, and so it was with both regret & relief that $outhpaw played their last show on New Years Eve 2009 in their home town of Perth.

The Revivals had their very own Rock n' Roll pedigree, a bit younger than their local country rock peers they had also been gigging up and down the UK for several years, enjoyed two stints at SXSW , radio appearances and much prominence on the local & national scene, eventually those enemies of rock n' roll youth, mortgages, bald spots and bad choices brought the curtain down on one of the most exciting bands of that time and place.

Fate wouldn't wait around for long though and a matter of months after both bands called it a day phones started ringing, meetings were arranged, beers were drunk and records listened to, The Band, The Stones, AC/DC etc. All of these influences combined with a defiant celtic soul and The New Madrids were born!

Three years later and the debut album - Through the Heart of Town is set for a January 2014 release........what could possibly go wrong?

Band Members

Owen 'Scaryophonic' Nicholson, our very own mad professor never plays it the same way twice, often a virtue, sometimes a curse, always interesting. 

Maurice 'Mo' McPherson, the most laid back ahead of the beat drummer you'll ever hear, it's like an eternal inner struggle between Charlie Watts of the Rolling Stones & Animal of the Muppets resulting in perfect rhythmic delivery.

Ian 'Hutchy' Hutchison, so Mick Jagger and Jim Morrison had a lovechild, a guitarist & songwriter with moves James Brown would kill for. 

Donny McElligott, no nickname, not that it stops people calling him allsorts anyway, never mind the baldness, just listen to him sing. 

Callum Keith, bass player extraordiannaire.